22 March 2017 Wednesday Night Jazz 9-11 pm KMXT.org

I'll be doing Wednesday Night Jazz tonight from 9-11 on KMXT.org.  The playlist includes Hossein Alizadeh, Miles Davis, Crimson Jazz Trio, Armik, Shankar Jim Hall, Markus Reuter &IB Big Band, Jean-Luc Ponty, and Soft Machine

21 March 2017: Hossein Alizadeh - Markus Reuter

Endless Vision is a collaborative album by Hossein Alizâdeh and Djivan Gasparyan. It was released on 3 February 2005, through Hermes Records[2] in Iran and released on 14 February 2006 by World Village records in the United States.it was recorded at the Niavaran Palace on Tehran in 2003.[3]
Alizâdeh plays on this album, the six-stringed shurangiz and Gasparyan plays the Duduk.[4]
The album was nominated for a Grammy Award for Best Traditional World Music Album at the 49th Grammy Awards.[5]

Track list

All music composed by Hossein Alizâdeh, except where noted.
No. Title Length
1. "Birds" (lyrics: M. Azad) 22:20
2. "Armenian Romances" (Shurangiz Improvisation) 3:07
3. "Sari Galin" (Music: Ilgar Moradof with Azeri, Armenian and Persian Lyrics) 7:40
4. "Call of the Birds" (Instrumental) 8:17
5. "Mama" (Music & Lyrics: Djivan Gasparyan) 5:55
6. "Improvisation on Shurangiz" 5:58
7. "Parvaneh Sho ..." (Tasnif, Lyrics: Rumi) 7:13
Total length: 60:33


Hamavayan Ensemble
Additional Musicians
  • Vazgen Markaryan – Duduk
  • Armen Ghazaryan – Duduk

Markus Reuter – Live in Pomona 2016

released November 18, 2016 | Performed and recorded live on August 9 2016 during the radio show “Digital Dreams”, hosted by Mark Dickson on WLFR. Stockton University, Pomona, NJ, USA.

Available as a FREE DOWNLOAD from Iapetus Records.
Presented here in its entirety, unedited and thus with some small audio flaws, but split into 3 sections because of file size limitations.
Markus Reuter: Instant composition, Touch Guitars® AU8, Processing
Recorded and mastered by Markus Reuter
Cover artwork by an unknown artist
Touch Guitars®
Driver and support: George “G$” Bley

08 March 2017: Wednesday Night Jazz Show

I'll be doing the Wednesday Night Jazz Show tonight from 9-11 pm on KMXT.org
The playlist includes Yo-Yo Ma's Silk Road Ensemble, Lena Horne, Crimson Jazz Trio, Ernesto Holman Etnojazz Trio, Jimmy Smith, Giora Feldman, Art Blakey, Jean-Luc Ponty, Alice Coltrane, and Otomo Yoshihide's New Jazz Ensemble.

07 March 2017: Unitopia & The Pineapple Thief

Unitopia was an Australian music group using progressive rock as a framework, but also including elements of world, classical, jazz, hard rock, and groove.Unitopia is the rare case of prog from "down under". The band was formed by Mark Trueack (vocals) and Sean Timms (keyboard, guitar) after they were introduced by a mutual friend who saw that the two had similar tastes in music and the story goes that as soon as Timms heard Trueack sing, he knew they had to do something together. They released their first album, "More Than A Dream" in 2005 after spending 8 years on the albums, and have since been working on material for their second album "The Garden", which was recently released after 3 years of writing, recording and mastering. The band's influences stretch all across the progressive scope and make for a very intriguing sound that has one foot in "retro"-70s style progressive while still being able to sound like other artists in the modern progressive scene. They have a rather large sound to them, which is no doubt helped by their 6-member roster (including Matt Williams (guitar), Monty Ruggiero (drums), Shireen Khemlani (bass) and Tim Irrang (percussion)). They mix a combination of Flower Kings-like symphonic qualities with the soul of Ladder-era Yes and Trueack's unique vocals to make the brunt of their sound.
Sean Timms has started a new band, "Southern Empire", since the dissolution of Unitopia.
Your Wilderness is the eleventh studio album by British alternative rock band The Pineapple Thief. The album features several known guest musicians, including Gavin Harrison (Porcupine Tree, King Crimson), John Helliwell (Supertramp), and Geoffrey Richardson (Caravan)

Your Wilderness, their 11th studio album, showcases the band performing without any inhibitions providing a springboard for the ongoing creative growth of The Pineapple Thief.
For the first time, The Pineapple Thief has brought in several special guest performers. “Since our last album Magnolia, the most eye catching change is obviously having Gavin Harrison contribute drums throughout the album” explains Bruce Soord. “This has not only redefined our sound but also redefined how we approached the songs as a band.  Gavin’s drumming is technically brilliant but also incredibly musical, and it inspired all of us to raise our game.  I’ve also rediscovered my progressive roots in terms of song-writing and arrangement.  Added to that, we were lucky enough to have John Helliwell from Supertramp contribute some beautiful clarinet parts and Geoffrey Richardson (Caravan) provided a string quartet. We were also joined by a lovely 4 piece choir and to cap it all off, my friend Darran Charles (Godsticks) added some jaw dropping guitar playing… You’ve never heard a The Pineapple Thief album like this one!  I am convinced people will love this record as much as we do.”
Carl Glover’s thought provoking collection of photographs perfectly compliment the concept of the album, something which Soord is tight lipped about. “It should reveal itself to the listener and be open to interpretation. I don’t want what it means to me to influence how it affects you”.   
Your Wilderness was recorded entirely by the band with the exception of the drums, which Gavin Harrison produced & engineered at his own studio. The string quartet which was recorded at Geoffrey’s own studio in Canterbury. The album was mixed and produced by Bruce Soord and Steve Kitch with mastering duties also carried out by Steve. There will be a special lossless 5.1 surround mix available with the special edition mixed by Bruce.
Seen as one of the most vital rock bands the UK has produced over the last two decades, The Pineapple Thief was formed in 1999 by founder and chief songwriter Bruce Soord. The band has steadily evolved and refined it’s sound with the bass playing of Jon Sykes and the production and keyboards of Steve Kitch now so integral to the sound.  “After so many years, The Pineapple Thief has become way bigger than the sum of its parts.” explains Soord.
“The new album was a joy to make. More so than any other The Pineapple Thief album before it. Everything came together so effortlessly and I think this comes across when you hear the record.”
Bruce Soord has also collaborated with the likes of Wisdom of Crowds (with Katatonia’s Jonas Renkse), Katatonia (joining the band on its 2014 acoustic European tour), and has created 5.1 remixes for artists such as Opeth, TesseracT, Tim Bowness and Katatonia. Soord also released his debut self titled debut solo album through Kscope in 2015.
The Pineapple Thief is currently booking a European tour for late 2016 and planning live shows in USA / Canada
Your Wilderness will be released by Kscope on CD, LP, digitally and as a special deluxe 12” hardback book.

Track listing

All tracks written by Bruce Soord.
No. Title Length
1. "In Exile" 5:40
2. "No Man's Land" 4:20
3. "Tear You Up" 4:53
4. "That Shore" 4:36
5. "Take Your Shot" 4:34
6. "Fend for Yourself" 3:49
7. "The Final Thing On My Mind" 9:52
8. "Where We Stood" 3:46
Total length: 41:

01 March 2017: FreeForm Does That Jazz Thing All Over Again

I'll be doing another Jazz show on KMXT tonight from 9-11.  On the Playlist are Mahavishnu Orchestra, Dinah Washington, Charles Mingus, California Guitar Trio, Crimson Jazz Trio,  Jethro Tull, Al DiMeola, Frank Zappa, and King Crimson.