Progressive Music Hiatus on FreeForm

The FreeForm staff will be taking a break for a couple months for a well-deserved rest.  Freeform Radio will be staffed by guest hosts who may or may not be playing progressive music.  See you in March!

Jan 11 2011: Gazpacho

Gazpacho are an Art rock band from Oslo, Norway.
The original core band of Jan-Henrik Ohme (vocals), Jon-Arne Vilbo (guitars) and Thomas Andersen (keyboards, programming, producer) started making music together in 1996 and the band has since expanded with Mikael Krømer (violin, co-producer), Lars Erik Asp (drums) and Kristian Torp (bass).
Gazpacho's music has been described by one critic as being "classical post ambient nocturnal atmospheric neo-progressive folk world rock".[1] The music has been compared to A-ha, Radiohead, Marillion and Porcupine Tree.
Atropos is the Greek goddess of fate and destiny and she is one of the three goddesses of Fate. It is believed that she was the controller of the death of every mortal man on the earth. The Roman equivalent of Atropos was Morta and she had almost similar powers and functions as Atropos. She was the deciding factor of the death of a person and she chooses the way of death. She would cut the threads of life with her shears and end the life cycle. She is the oldest goddess among the three goddesses of fate and it was believed that all the other gods respected and feared her. Clotho and Lachesis were the other goddesses of fate and they were believed to be the daughters of the God Zeus. Atropos is often symbolized with shears in her hand, which is her tool to cut the threads of life. In popular culture, the Atropos is still worshipped in the Italian and Roman regions. The regions suffering from the low birth rates and high death rates are believed to be affected from the curse and wrath of Goddess Atropos. In the medical science, a fatal and life threatening drug is named as Atropos because of its immediate fatal effect on the human body.

04 January 2010: Transatlantic "The Whirlwind"

Transatlantic: The Whirlwind
Studio Album, released in 2009

Songs / Tracks Listing
Disc 1: The Whirlwind (77:47)
i) Overture / Whirlwind (9:54)
ii) The Wind Blew Them All Away (6:10)
iii) On The Prowl (6:03)
iv) A Man Can Feel (6:35)
v) Out Of The Night (4:22)
vi) Rose Colored Glasses (7:54)
vii) Evermore (4:10)
viii) Set Us Free (5:03)
ix) Lay Down Your Life (5:11)
x) Pieces Of Heaven (2:17)
xi) Is It Really Happening? (8:11)
xii) Dancing With Eternal Glory / Whirlwind (Reprise) (12:04)

Total Time 77:54
Line-up / Musicians
- Neal Morse / vocals, keyboards, acoustic & electric guitars
- Mike Portnoy / drums, vocals
- Roine Stolt / vocals, acoustic & electric guitars, mellotron, percussion
- Pete Trewavas / bass, bass pedals, vocals
Releases information
Release date:
October 23rd 2009: Germany, Austria, Switzerland
October 26th 2009: Europe
October 27th 2009: North America