08 May 2018: The Who - "Tommy" Special FreeForm Fund Raiser Edition

Tonight as part of KMXT's Spring Fundraiser, we will be playing Tommy in its entirety without interruption.  This is your opportunity to support Kodiak Public Radio by going to kmxt.org and making a donation or becoming a sustaining member.
      Tommy is the fourth studio album by the English rock band The Who, a double album first released in May 1969. The album was mostly composed by guitarist Pete Townshend as a rock opera that tells the story about a "deaf, dumb and blind" boy, including his experiences with life and his relationship with his family.
     Townshend came up with the concept of Tommy after being introduced to the work of Meher Baba, and attempted to translate Baba's teachings into music. Recording on the album began in September 1968, but took six months to complete as material needed to be arranged and re-recorded in the studio. Tommy was acclaimed upon its release by critics, who hailed it as the Who's breakthrough. Its critical standing diminished slightly in later years; nonetheless, several writers view it as an important and influential album in the history of rock music. The Who promoted the album's release with an extensive tour, including a live version of Tommy, which lasted throughout 1969 and 1970. Key gigs from the tour included appearances at Woodstock, the 1969 Isle of Wight Festival, the University of Leeds, the Metropolitan Opera House and the 1970 Isle of Wight Festival. The live performances of Tommy drew critical praise and rejuvenated the band's career.

Track listing

Track names and timings vary across editions; some editions have two tracks merged into one and vice versa. "See Me, Feel Me", for example, is the second half of "We're not Gonna Take It", but is its own track as a single and on the 2003 deluxe edition.[68]All tracks written by Pete Townshend, except where noted.

The Who
Note: Townshend also played banjo on the original album's "Tommy's Holiday Camp".

Side one
No. Title Lead vocals Length
1. "Overture" Townshend 3:50
2. "It's a Boy" Townshend 2:07
3. "1921" Townshend, Roger Daltrey on chorus 3:14
4. "Amazing Journey" Daltrey 3:25
5. "Sparks" Instrumental 3:45
6. "The Hawker" (Sonny Boy Williamson) Daltrey 2:15
Side two
No. Title Lead vocals Length
1. "Christmas" Daltrey, Townshend in middle eight 5:30
2. "Cousin Kevin" (John Entwistle) Entwistle and Townshend 4:03
3. "The Acid Queen" Townshend 3:31
4. "Underture" Instrumental 9:55
Side three
No. Title Lead vocals Length
1. "Do You Think It's Alright?" Daltrey and Townshend 0:24
2. "Fiddle About" (Entwistle) Entwistle 1:26
3. "Pinball Wizard" Daltrey, Townshend on bridge 3:01
4. "There's a Doctor" Townshend, with Daltrey and Entwistle 0:25
5. "Go to the Mirror!" Daltrey and Townshend 3:50
6. "Tommy Can You Hear Me?" Daltrey, Townshend and Entwistle 1:35
7. "Smash the Mirror" Daltrey 1:20
8. "Sensation" Townshend 2:32
Side four
No. Title Lead vocals Length
1. "Miracle Cure" Daltrey, Townshend and Entwistle 0:10
2. "Sally Simpson" Daltrey 4:10
3. "I'm Free" Daltrey 2:40
4. "Welcome" Daltrey, Townshend ("more at the door") and Entwistle (spoken part) 4:30
5. "Tommy's Holiday Camp" (Keith Moon) Townshend 0:57
6. "We're Not Gonna Take It" Daltrey, Townshend and Entwistle 6:45