23 October 2018: Geph, Tamarisk, David Cross

GEPH is an instrumental progressive jazz metal trio riding the very cutting edge of contemporary music. With Josh Goldbergand John Tyler Kent on Chapman Stick, and Josh Merhar on drums, the three of them sound as big as a five-piece, and work to expand the modern conceptions of arranging and composing in a heavy, intense and still succinctly musical format.   


1. 07:41








Apophenia (/æpoʊˈfiːniə/) is the tendency to perceive connections and meaning between unrelated things.


released July 6, 2018

Josh Goldberg - Chapman Stick
John Tyler Kent - Chapman Stick
Josh Merhar - Drums

All songs written and performed by GEPH with the exception of "Little Guy" which was written and performed by John Tyler Kent

Produced, recorded and mixed by Bryan Fennelly at Plaid Dog Recording
Mastered by Mike Davidson at Plaid Dog Recording

Album artwork by Josh Goldberg
Layout/design by John Tyler Kent
Back cover photography by Jen Derosiers
Interior photography by Caitlin Kling 

Coming from the Northeastern part of London, Tamarisk evolved around 1982 from the ashes of Chemical Alice (Mark Kelly of Marillion fame had spent time with this group). Originally founded by Steve Leigh on keyboards, Andy Grant on vocals and Richard Crichton on drums, they secured a solid line-up only when Crichton was replaced by Richard Harris along with Peter Munday on guitars and Mark Orbell on bass. The group went on to produce two very rare cassette E.P.'s, a self-titled in 1982 and ''Lost properties'' ta year later. Shortly after a line-up change occurred with Nick May taking over the bass duties and Brian Roberts being the drummer. In 1985 Tamarisk briefly performed as a trio of Leigh, Grant and May under the name of ''Corrupted by Toys'', before disbanding for good.

Leigh spent some time with Quasar before forming Landmarq, while May had a nice career, initially joining Dagaband, then for a short time Jadis, appeared for a while with The Enid, while his latest collaboration was with Karnataka around 2005. Almost 30 years after Tamarisk's demise the compilation album ''Frozen in time'' was released, containing the material of both the early E.P.'s of the group, thus giving the chance to prog fans to taste the band's unpolished, raw and underground Neo Prog sound.

Live recording of Tamarisk's first show in over 30 years. Recorded at Chinnerys in Southend -On-Sea on Saturday 3rd March 2018
released June 9, 2018 

Andy Grant - Voice 
Steve Leigh - Keyboards 
Chris Davies - Bass 
Luke Rayner - Guitar 
Marc Cecil - Drums 

Dave Denby - Photography

David Cross

David Cross
Born23 April 1949 (age 69)
OriginElectric violinist
Years active1973–present
LabelsNoisy Records
Associated actsKing Crimson, Radius, Electric Chamber Music, David Cross Band
David Cross (born 23 April 1949 in Turnchapel near PlymouthEngland) is an English electric violinist, best known for playing with progressive rock band King Crimson during the 1970s[1] (particularly on Larks' Tongues in Aspic and Starless and Bible Black). He also plays keyboards.[2]
After King Crimson, Cross formed a jazzy improvising band called They Came from Plymouth.[3] With Keith Tippett (piano), Dan Maurer (drums) and Jim Juhn (guitar, bass, percussion), he formed a short-lived project in 1987 called Low Flying Aircraft. In 1998, he was invited by Geoff Serle to join Radius. Besides Cross and Serle (keyboards, electronics, samples), Radius included Sheila Malony (on keyboards), Maxine Braham and Carlo Lucius Asciutti (vocals).
Since the mid-1980s, he has also led his own band, the earlier incarnations of which featured American drummer Dan Maurer, English keyboard player Sheila Maloney and the Liverpool bassist/vocalist John Dillon. Former and current King Crimson members John WettonRobert Fripp, and Peter Sinfield, as well as guest lyricist Richard Palmer-James, have all guested on his solo projects.

Cross has also worked in theatre both musically and as an actor. In 1999, he formed Noisy Records.

David Cross ‎– Memos From Purgatory

Red Hot Records (5) ‎– CDR 103
CD, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Poppies
Bass – Tim Carter
2 Meantime 9:40
3 The First Policeman 5:33
4 Animal 6:27
5 New Dawn 6:19
6 Postscript 4:52
7 Bizarre Bazaar 4:04
8 Basking In The Blue
Engineer – Guy CampbellProducer – David Cross, Guy Campbell, Sheila Maloney