29 September 2015: Beaver & Krause - Gandharva; King Crimson - USA (live June 1974) 30th Anniversary Edition

Beaver & Krause were a musical duo made up of Paul Beaver and Bernie Krause. Their 1967 album The Nonesuch Guide to Electronic Music was a pioneering work in the electronic music genre.
Beaver introduced Monkees singer-drummer Micky Dolenz to the Moog, which became a featured instrument on the fourth Monkees album, Pisces, Aquarius, Capricorn & Jones Ltd., and Beaver himself performed on one track, "Star Collector" in 1967. In addition, he led workshops at the Beaver & Krause LA studio attended by a who's who of film composers and session keyboardists of the time.
In June 1967, Beaver and Krause set up a booth at the Monterey Pop Festival, demonstrating their newly purchased electronic synthesiser, one of the first constructed by Bob Moog.
Thanks to their demonstrations of the Moog at Monterey, Beaver and Krause also introduced the instrument to a number of other leading American pop acts including The Doors, Simon & Garfunkel and The Byrds, helping to create the vogue for the Moog that emerged in the late 1960s and early 1970s.
Krause introduced the instrument first to Sir George Martin, producer of the Beatles, and then to George Harrison during Harrison's 1968 visit to California while producing the Apple artist, Jackie Lomax. He used it to generate his 1969 free-form solo Electronic Sound album for Apple Records' spinoff label Zapple, with the first side of the disc consisting of not only Krause's composition, but also his performance – one that remained completely unacknowledged and uncompensated for.
In 1968, Beaver and Krause released an album for Mercury Records imprint Limelight Records, Ragnarok, then released a series of three albums for Warner Brothers Records, In a Wild Sanctuary (1970), Gandharva (1971) and All Good Men (1972), effectively creating both the electronica and New Age musical movements.
The final chord of their track "Spaced" from the Wild Sanctuary album is very similar to the synthesizer THX Sound Logo in movie theaters named deep note, although it is unknown if it was directly influenced by Beaver and Krause.
Both Mike Bloomfield and Ronnie Montrose played guitar on the Beaver & Krause song "Saga Of The Blue Beaver".
The duo ended with Beaver's premature death in 1975, at age 49.
Krause released at least two more solo albums: Citadels in 1979 and Gorillas in the Mix in 1988, plus several movie soundtracks, and now specializes in recording naturalistic sounds, combining them with synthesizers.


A1 Soft / White 0:52
A2 Saga Of The Blue Beaver 4:19
A3 Nine Moons In Alaska 3:04
A4 Walkin' 2:42
A5 Walkin' By The River 2:39
B1 Gandharva 1:12
B2 By Your Grace 5:13
B3 Good Places 3:37
B4 Short Film For David 5:23
B5 Bright Shadows 4:53


Side Two recorded at Grace Cathedral, San Francisco, February 10-11, 1971. 

USA is a live album by the English band King Crimson, released in 1975. It was mostly recorded at the Casino, Asbury Park, New Jersey, on 28 June 1974. The exceptions are track 7, which was recorded at the Palace Theatre, Providence, Rhode Island, USA, on 30 June 1974, and Eddie Jobson's overdubs on tracks 2, 3 and 7, which were recorded in a studio.
Track 1 is a brief performance of "The Heavenly Music Corporation" from (No Pussyfooting). While it was not listed as a separate track on the original album, it is present on all releases. On the original UK vinyl release, the audience noise after the end of the last track was imbedded in a locked groove, leaving the applause to go on so long as the phonograph needle remained on the disc.
There have been four releases of the album:
  1. Original vinyl release in 1975. Includes tracks 1 - 7 (although track 1 & 2 are combined) and Eddie Jobson's overdubs.
  2. 30th Anniversary Remaster released 2002. Added tracks 8 & 9 to original release, credited track 1.
  3. 2005 mix of original multi-track tapes by Ronan Chris Murphy at DGM. Released as download from dgmlive.com in 2005 and on The Collectable King Crimson Vol. 1 in 2006. Includes all tracks; "21st Century Schizoid Man" is moved to be the last track and is now the version from Asbury Park 28 June 1974. Does not include Eddie Jobson's overdubs.
  4. 2013 mix by original multi-track tapes by Robert Fripp, Tony Arnold and David Singleton at the Courthouse, Cranborne, Dorset. Same track order and versions as release #3. Splits improv at end of track 6 into its own track.

Track listing

Side one
No. Title Writers Length
1. "Walk On...No Pussyfooting"   Brian Eno, Robert Fripp 0:35
2. "Larks' Tongues in Aspic (Part II)"   Fripp 7:03
3. "Lament"   Fripp, John Wetton, Richard Palmer-James 4:21
4. "Exiles"   David Cross, Fripp, Wetton, Palmer-James 7:09
Side two
No. Title Writers Length
5. "Asbury Park"   Cross, Fripp, Bruford, Bill Bruford 7:06
6. "Easy Money"   Fripp, Wetton, Palmer-James 6:41
7. "21st Century Schizoid Man"   Fripp, Michael Giles, Greg Lake, Ian McDonald, Peter Sinfield 8:40
Bonus tracks on 30th anniversary edition CD
No. Title Writers Length
8. "Fracture"   Fripp 11:19
9. "Starless"